About me

EA7988C4-E138-44B3-BB57-31B758981975_1_105_c

I’m Michelle, a 39 year old working mum who has Type 1 Diabetes. I live with my husband, two kids and my dog in Devon, England.

Why I write about Type 1 Diabetes

Living with Type 1 Diabetes has its ups and downs. Sometimes it’s in the background and I deal with it on autopilot, sometimes I focus on it more to try and improve my control, sometimes things go as planned and sometimes they don’t.  There are no breaks from it and unlike most other things in life, more effort doesn’t necessarily mean better results. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about how to stay focused and motivated for the long term and how to overcome those times when I feel like I can’t be bothered and it feels like a drag.  These are the aspects of having Type 1 Diabetes that I write about.

Since my diagnosis in 2007, I’ve often turned to the internet to look for answers to my questions. It occurred to me that my own experiences might be helpful for others to hear about too, which is why I have started Pumps and Pricks and joined Twitter (@MichelleLawT1D).

I’m not a doctor though so please don’t treat anything I say as medical advice!

My day job

I’m Director of Strategic Planning for a national wealth management company and from 2015-2019 I was a non-executive on the Governing Body of my local NHS Clinical Commissioning Group.

My spare time

When I’m not working you can find me reading, listening to podcasts, walking my dog and being with my family and friends.

I am also an enthusiastic member of the Exeter Diabetes Public Patient Involvement Group.

These are all my personal views.